Eleanor Beardsley http://nipr.fm en Both Sides Dig In Their Heels Over Crimea Crisis http://nipr.fm/post/both-sides-dig-their-heels-over-crimea-crisis Ukraine shares a long history with Russia, but the latest crisis is driving a wedge between the two countries and reinforcing a sense of national identity among many Ukrainians. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:22:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 28714 at http://nipr.fm A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea http://nipr.fm/post/culture-unchecked-abuse-thrives-ukraine-and-crimea <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5GeBpZ5VHY</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 28093 at http://nipr.fm A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea As Russia And The West Trade Shots Across The Bow, Kiev Looks On http://nipr.fm/post/russia-and-west-trade-shots-across-bow-kiev-looks Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>The U.S. and Europe imposed new sanctions on Russian leaders today in response to Russia's takeover of Crimea. The Russians responded with their own sanctions. The country's foreign minister accused Kiev of organizing attacks on Russian speakers in eastern Ukraine. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:36:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27983 at http://nipr.fm For Crimea, Split From Ukraine Would Be Complicated And Costly http://nipr.fm/post/crimea-split-ukraine-would-be-complicated-and-costly Crimea is a poor region, heavily subsidized by Kiev, and gets all its gas, water and food from Ukraine. Russia doesn't even have a land link with the Crimean peninsula and absorbing it will affect banks, schools, tourism and pensions for residents. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:31:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27951 at http://nipr.fm Kiev Mobilizes Thousands Of Troops, Preparing For Worst http://nipr.fm/post/kiev-mobilizes-thousands-troops-preparing-worst The Ukrainian parliament has voted to mobilize 40,000 reservists as Kiev tries to beef up its military following the referendum in Crimea. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:09:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27831 at http://nipr.fm Crimeans Vote To Leave Ukraine, Join Russia http://nipr.fm/post/crimeans-vote-leave-ukraine-join-russia Crimeans voted overwhelmingly on Sunday to leave Ukraine and join Russia. Morning Edition checks in with NPR's Gregory Warner in Simferopol and Eleanor Beardsley in Kiev for the latest. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 09:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27797 at http://nipr.fm With All Eyes On The East, A Seige Mentality Settles On Kiev http://nipr.fm/post/all-eyes-east-seige-mentality-settles-kiev Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry held last-minute talks with his Russian counterpart, Sergey Lavrov, in London today, but there was no breakthrough. Kerry had been trying to head off the referendum on Crimean secession from Ukraine. That vote is set for Sunday. In a moment, we'll hear more about the situation in Crimea. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27717 at http://nipr.fm France Takes A Stand, Crushing Ivory Beneath The Eiffel Tower http://nipr.fm/post/france-crushes-ivory-beneath-eiffel-tower Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR NEW. I'm Rachel Martin.<p>This past week, France became the first European country to destroy illegal ivory in a high profile public demonstration. It did so underneath the Eiffel Tower as part of a global effort to call attention to the illicit ivory trade. Sun, 09 Feb 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 26360 at http://nipr.fm On Third Anniversary, Tunisians May Get A Constitution http://nipr.fm/post/third-anniversary-tunisians-may-get-constitution Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>The Arab Spring that brought those changes to Egypt began in Tunisia, exactly three years ago today. Tunisians overthrew their dictator, prompting a wave of uprisings across the region. But three years on, lawmakers are still struggling to ratify a new constitution and lay the foundations of their country's future. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 22:12:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25359 at http://nipr.fm New Constitution Is A Sign Of Tunisia's Optimism http://nipr.fm/post/new-constitution-sign-tunisias-optimism Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>On Tuesday, Tunisia will celebrate the third anniversary of its revolution. Tunisia is the country that inspired uprisings across the Arab world. Since then, that country has gone through tough times but it seems to have found its way again. Opposing sides have drafted the new constitution together. It will be ready in a couple days, and new elections are set for this year. Sun, 12 Jan 2014 14:56:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25265 at http://nipr.fm