Indiana General Assembly http://nipr.fm en Senate Passes Amended Same-Sex Marriage Ban http://nipr.fm/post/senate-passes-amended-same-sex-marriage-ban <p></p><p>The proposed constitutional amendment banning same sex marriage known as HJR-3 survived the 2014 session but not unscathed, losing its controversial second sentence.&nbsp; And it won’t be on the ballot this fall.</p><p></p><p>HJR-3’s second sentence, which banned civil unions, was removed by the House because of concerns it could prohibit domestic partnership benefits.&nbsp; The Senate opted against reinserting it.&nbsp; And the Senate ended debate on the issue this year Monday, passing HJR-3 32 to 17.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 18:35:24 +0000 Brandon Smith 26722 at http://nipr.fm Senate Passes Amended Same-Sex Marriage Ban Dermody Could Have Big Impact On Hoosier Gaming http://nipr.fm/post/dermody-could-have-big-impact-hoosier-gaming <p>A new chairman in the Indiana House Public Policy committee is giving gaming industry officials hope for more success in the legislature.</p><p>Indiana’s gaming industry has been hit hard in the last few years, both by the recession and increased competition from neighboring states.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 12:28:00 +0000 Brandon Smith 23892 at http://nipr.fm Lawmakers Explore More Autonomy for IPFW http://nipr.fm/post/lawmakers-explore-more-autonomy-ipfw <p>State lawmakers say the legislature could give Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne more autonomy and flexibility in funding and degree offerings.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A legislative study committee was tasked this year with investigating the governance structure of the state’s regional university campuses.&nbsp; And though its initial focus was broad, the committee has narrowed in on one location – </span>IPFW<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, the state’s fifth largest college campus.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 21 Oct 2013 15:02:34 +0000 Brandon Smith 21889 at http://nipr.fm Lawmakers Explore More Autonomy for IPFW Group Vows to Fight Gay Marriage Ban http://nipr.fm/post/group-vows-fight-gay-marriage-ban <p>A bipartisan coalition of community, faith and business leaders opposing Indiana’s proposed amendment banning same sex marriage is promising a well-funded campaign against lawmakers who support the measure.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The General Assembly approved a constitutional amendment in 2011 banning same-sex marriage.&nbsp; The legislature must pass it again next year. &nbsp;Then it would go to the voters in the 2014 November general election.&nbsp;</span></p><p>The newly-formed Freedom Indiana is vowing to fight its passage.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 17:27:32 +0000 Brandon Smith 19331 at http://nipr.fm Group Vows to Fight Gay Marriage Ban Indiana's School Grading System In the Spotlight http://nipr.fm/post/indianas-school-grading-system-spotlight <div>The controversy surrounding Indiana’s former superintendent, Tony Bennett, is bringing new attention to the formula state officials use to issue letter grade performance ratings to schools.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 05 Aug 2013 22:02:00 +0000 Kyle Stokes 18570 at http://nipr.fm Indiana's School Grading System In the Spotlight Committee Set to Add Transparency at DCS http://nipr.fm/post/committee-set-add-transparency-dcs <p>Lawmakers say a new Department of Child Services oversight committee will help increase the agency’s transparency by developing a greater sense of collaboration between the legislature and DCS.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The </span>DCS<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Oversight Committee was created last legislative session as part of a larger Commission on Improving the Status of Children.</span></p><p>Middlebury Republican Senator Carlin Yoder, who chairs the committee, says it was created because of struggles DCS went through the last several years.</p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 14:46:03 +0000 Brandon Smith 18248 at http://nipr.fm Committee Set to Add Transparency at DCS Gay Marriage Advocates, Opponents Prepare for 2014 http://nipr.fm/post/gay-marriage-advocates-opponents-prepare-2014 <p>Advocates on both sides of Indiana’s same sex marriage debate are preparing for a fight after the U.S. Supreme Court’s rulings Wednesday clear the way for the states to decide the marriage question.</p><p> Thu, 27 Jun 2013 12:16:44 +0000 Brandon Smith 16824 at http://nipr.fm State Legislators to Hold Hearings on ISTEP+ Glitches http://nipr.fm/post/state-legislators-hold-hearings-istep-glitches <p>In the wake of ISTEP testing disruptions that have called into question the validity of this year’s tests, the General Assembly this week will hold the first of two hearings investigating the issue.</p><p> Mon, 17 Jun 2013 15:00:37 +0000 Brandon Smith 16345 at http://nipr.fm State Legislators to Hold Hearings on ISTEP+ Glitches Legislature Overrides Pence's Tax Bill Veto http://nipr.fm/post/legislature-overrides-pences-tax-bill-veto <p>The General Assembly Wednesday voted overwhelmingly to override Governor Mike Pence’s veto of a tax bill, with Republican leaders saying the legislation is the best fix to a tax problem.</p><p> Wed, 12 Jun 2013 21:37:28 +0000 Brandon Smith 16132 at http://nipr.fm Pence Announces Public-Private Bioscience Venture http://nipr.fm/post/pence-announces-public-private-bioscience-venture <p>Governor Mike Pence says the creation of a new Biosciences Research Institute announced Thursday will create jobs, attract investment and talent from around the globe and help retain the state’s top graduates.&nbsp; It’s being called the first industry-led life sciences research institute in the country.</p><p> Fri, 31 May 2013 20:42:05 +0000 Brandon Smith 15536 at http://nipr.fm