opinion

Opinion
2:06 pm
Thu April 10, 2014

Keep Your Head in the Game

IPFW Associate Professor and medical ethicist Abraham Schwab.
Credit Courtesy / Abraham Schwab

This Friday, the Indiana Pacers face the Miami Heat for the fourth time this season, a game that will likely determine home court advantage for the Eastern Conference Playoffs.

The Pacers won two of the first three meetings, due in no small part to the play of Roy Hibbert. Hibbert scored 21 points in their third meeting on March 26, and affected Chris Bosh’s attempt at a game-winning shot. Bosh’s attempt fell short and the Pacers won 84-83. But, after taking an elbow like this earlier in the fourth quarter, I wonder if Hibbert should have been benched for his own protection.

Read more
Opinion - Politics
4:32 pm
Wed March 26, 2014

No One Said It Would Be Easy

Andrew Downs, Director of the Mike Downs Center for Indiana Politics at IPFW.
Credit Courtesy / Andrew Downs

Minnesota has one of those problems many states would like to have. It is trying to figure out what do to with a growing budget surplus.  According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the January seasonally adjusted unemployment rate in Minnesota was the ninth best rate in the United States at 4.7% and the economy is growing.  Short-term projections for the state are that there will be 42,000 more jobs by the fourth quarter of 2014 than there were in the fourth quarter of 2013. 

Read more
Opinion - Health
2:27 pm
Wed March 19, 2014

School Districts Need a Uniform Policy for Allergens in the Classroom

IPFW Associate Professor and medical ethicist Abraham Schwab.
Credit Courtesy / Abraham Schwab

In a 2013 comedy special, Louis C.K. provides a provocative contrast of good thoughts and bad thoughts he calls “Of course . . . But maybe” (Ed.: video contains content some readers may find offensive).

His first example: “Of course” we should protect children with nut allergies by segregating their food. Of course we should. “But maybe” if you touch a nut and it kills you, you’re supposed to die.

Read more
Opinion - Food
4:57 pm
Thu March 6, 2014

Fort Wayne Farm Promotes Sustainable Food By Nixing the Soil

Get Fresh Farms in Fort Wayne grows a variety of vegetables through hydroponics, a process that uses no soil.
Amber Recker For WBOI News

The locavore movement is starting to take hold in Northeast Indiana, as is evident by the growing popularity of farmers markets. We want to know where our food is grown and raised. When you buy produce from the grocery store, you don’t know where or by whom it was grown.

Read more
Opinion - Politics
3:36 pm
Wed February 26, 2014

Both Parties Can Agree on This

Andrew Downs, Director of the Mike Downs Center for Indiana Politics at IPFW.
Credit Courtesy / Andrew Downs

What is the role of government? 

Conservatives and liberals spend quite a bit of time arguing about this question.  Even when they agree on a role the government is supposed to play, they often will argue about how the government is supposed to play that role. 

While the ideological differences between the two parties can explain their varying perspectives on the role of government, the reality is that even those with the same ideology disagree on what they want government to do.  

Read more
Opinion - Health
3:58 pm
Wed February 19, 2014

The Hidden Costs of Health Care

IPFW Associate Professor and medical ethicist Abraham Schwab.

Westchester Medical Center recently had to reverse positions. Their decision to refuse all insurance plans available on the New York Health Insurance Exchange was met with moral outrage. As a result, they now accept one of the seven plans available.

Read more
Opinion - Food
5:02 pm
Wed February 5, 2014

Queen of Sheba Brings a Taste of Ethiopia to Fort Wayne

WBOI food columnist Amber Recker says the Ethiopian cuisine at Queen of Sheba in Fort Wayne is worth the trip.
Credit Amber Recker

Since moving to Fort Wayne in 2002, I’ve witnessed a revolution in dining options. I will never forget the first time I rolled into town. I was greeted by an onslaught of chain restaurants lining the city’s major corridors. At first glance, there weren’t a lot of choices for ethnic foods either.

To say I was underwhelmed is an understatement. But, after discovering some of the culinary gems hidden in out-of-the-way neighborhoods, I became hopeful that a movement towards locally established restaurants would take hold.

Read more
Opinion - Politics
3:51 pm
Wed January 29, 2014

Constitutional Debate Creates Teachable Moments

Andrew Downs, Director of the Mike Downs Center for Indiana Politics at IPFW.
Credit Courtesy / Andrew Downs

(Ed. note: This month, we're launching a series of weekly columns from contributors across the community on topics like health, politics, food and more. This is the second column in our series.)

Indiana’s education standards include requirements regarding civics and government.  But I am a realist.  I know that just because a standard exists, there is no guarantee that a student will retain information any longer than it takes to through a test, if that long.  Life has an interesting way of providing moments when those things we were required to learn, and forgot, suddenly have relevance.  The legislative process is one of those things. 

Read more
Opinion - Health
4:31 pm
Wed January 22, 2014

How Do You Define Death?

IPFW Associate Professor and medical ethicist Abraham Schwab.
Credit Courtesy

(Ed. note: This is the first in a series of weekly columns we're featuring online. In the weeks to come, we'll publish columnists from a variety of topic areas including health, politics, food and more.)

On November 2, 2013, Tim Bowers fell from a tree stand, leaving him paralyzed and ventilator dependent for the rest of his life.

Read more